This award was established in 2023 to honor Dr. Gregor Reid, a founding board member of ISAPP, former President of ISAPP, and founder of the ISAPP Students and Fellows Association (SFA). Beyond his academic legacy and advancement of probiotic research, Dr. Reid’s transformative work in low and middle income countries (LMICs) – particularly his involvement with Fiti yogurt social enterprises across areas of Sub-Saharan Africa to address HIV/AIDS, general health, women’s empowerment, and sustainable economic development – has left an indelible mark on the field. The aim of this award is to recognize and support early career researchers (students and fellows) within LMICs, echoing Dr. Reid’s commitment to scientific excellence, innovation, and community development.

Winner 2024

Dr. Rounak Chourasia PhD, National Agri-food Biotechnology Institute, Mohali, Punjab, India
Dr. Chourasia’s work focuses on discovering microorganisms with specific properties that contribute to the enhanced health benefits of a traditional cheese called chhurpi from Sikkim Himalaya (a state in Northeast India). Furthermore, he has applied selected microbial strains to develop bioactive peptide-enriched novel soybean cheese suitable for those with lactose intolerance.